SSDI Claims Attorney St. Paul, MN

Serving the St. Paul suburbs and Greater Minnesota

The Minnesota Social Security disability claim process begins with the filing of an application. The Social Security Administration will evaluate your claim based on the information provided in your application and after a review of your medical records.

If you have questions about or are overwhelmed by the application process, St. Paul Social Security Disability Lawyer Gregg Nelson can help. Contact us for a free consultation today.

Initial Application for Benefits

If you are at least 18 years old and not already collecting benefits on your own Social Security record, you can apply for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and/or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits in one of three ways:

  • Complete the online application found on the Social Security Administration’s website,
  • Schedule an in-person or telephone interview at your local Social Security office.
  • Retain a representative, such as Gregg Nelson, Nelson Law Office, to complete the application for you.

What makes the most sense for you? Gregg Nelson and Nelson Law Office can help you decide. Contact Gregg for help with your SSDI/SSI application today.

Social Security Claim Denials

The Social Security Administration will send you a letter once it makes a determination on your claim. If you disagree with the decision, you can file an appeal. The appeal must be filed within 60 days of the date you receive the letter. (The Social Security Administration will assume you received the letter five days after the date on the letter unless you can prove that you received it later.)

Social Security Appeals Process

Request for reconsideration: This is a request for review of your case, including any new evidence, by someone who didn’t participate in the initial decision. If denied again, you can appeal with a request for hearing.

Request for hearing: This s a request for a hearing before an administrative law judge. At the hearing, the judge will question you; any witnesses you bring; and other witnesses, such as vocational and medical experts. If denied again, you can appeal with a request for Appeals Council review. However, the hearing level is very important. It is the trial level, where the record is finalized. An appeal after this point is primarily based upon the record created at the hearing level.

Request for Appeals Council review: This is a request for review of your case by Social Security Administration appeals judges and officers headquartered in Falls Church, Virginia. The Appeals Council can grant, deny, or dismiss a request for review. If granted, the Appeals Council will either decide the case or return it to an administrative law judge for further review. If you disagree with the Appeals Council’s decision or the Appeals Council denies your request for review, you can appeal by filing a civil action in United States District Court (Federal Court).

Request for Federal Court review: This is a request for judicial review of the Social Security Administration’s decision by a United States District Court judge or magistrate. There is a fee for filing a civil action in Federal Court. However, federal statue allows an indigent to file a civil action without paying the filing fee. An appeal at this level is still an appeal of the record created at the hearing level.