Filing for Workers Compensation in Minnesota

Workers compensation benefits are paid by an insurance company or, if your employer is self insured, by the employer through a third-party administrator.

  • If you are injured on the job, report your injury to your employer as soon as possible to ensure that you receive all of the workers compensation benefits to which you are entitled.
  • Your employer should complete a First Report of Injury form and provide you with a copy.
  • If you lose time from work because of the injury, your employer has ten days from its knowledge of the lost time to report your injury to the insurance company.
  • If your inability to return to work lasts for more than three days, the insurer must file the First Report of Injury form with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI).
  • The insurer will investigate your claim to verify that the injury/illness is work-related. During this time, you should keep your employer informed of your medical condition and any work restrictions.
  • If the insurance company accepts your claim, it will issue a Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination form stating acceptance of primary liability. You will receive a copy of the form. You may then be eligible for the following workers compensation benefits:
  • Medical care related to the injury, as long as it is reasonable and necessary;
  • Wage-loss benefits for part of your income loss;
  • Benefits for permanent loss of function of a body part;
  • Benefits to your dependents if you die of a work injury;
  • Vocational rehabilitation services to help you return to work; and
  • Mileage reimbursement for travel to obtain medical treatment and/or for certain vocational rehabilitation activities.

If at any time you are denied any or all of these workers compensation benefits, contact St. Paul Workers Compensation Attorney Gregg Nelson at Nelson Law Office to discuss your options. Gregg Nelson has been helping Minnesotans win their workers compensation claims for more than 30 years. He takes an aggressive stance for his clients. He will fight to help you get full and fair compensation for all of your losses, from wages or income to medical expenses, vocational rehabilitation, and benefits for permanent loss of function.

  • If the insurance company denies your claim, it should issue a Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination form stating denial of primary liability. You will receive a copy of the form, which must detail the facts used to deny your claim. If the insurance company denies any part of your claim or discontinues payments, you should receive a written notice as well. If you disagree with the insurer, contact Gregg Nelson at Nelson Law Office to discuss your options. Gregg has been helping clients win their workers compensation claims for more than 30 years. He takes an aggressive stance for his clients. He will fight to help you get full and fair compensation for all of your losses, from wages or income to medical expenses, vocational rehabilitation, and benefits for permanent loss of function.